Blog

Welcome to the Blog for IoT Horizon, where we hope to share useful information and market trends. If you would like to contribute then we would be delighted to hear from you.

Friday Good News for the RFID industry and for fans of NFC

Sep 21, 2018


Apple held its annual event last week to show their latest versions of the iPhone, along with upgrades to their iOS operating system. It was unveiled that Apple will finally open access to the Near Field Communication (NFC) reader in its iPhone.

The new iPhone XS, XS Max and XR models support the reading of NFC tags without users having to first open an application. Before this, the NFC reader in the iPhone 7 could only be used with Apple Pay, but then the company made the NFC reader available to certain applications. That functionality still exists, but the NFC reader in the new models can read a tag and, for example, launch a browser with a URL embedded in the tag.

The new models will be able to read tags when the phones are locked. So, if a user unlocks his or her phone, an app will launch, or the phone will display the tag's contents. If that individual reads an NFC tag at a Zoo for example, this might launch the preloaded zoo’s app or display the contents of the tag. This means that companies can now use NFC tags more easily.

If a company wants to create a new product they could place posters in public areas to promote that product and embed a tag within each poster, containing a link to a video or information on the internet. Although this has been a function that android users have been able to enjoy for years, Apple now having unlocked it now means that NFC will become a more attractive proposition for businesses.

If you would like to find out more about the uses and functionality of NFC, get in touch and we’ll be happy to discuss and help build an NFC solution for you.

Friday Good News for the RFID industry and for fans of NFC

Join our mailing list

Sign up to receive news and updates from IoT Horizon Limited so that we can keep you informed of any changes in technology and send you information about our business or the industry that we think will be of interest to you.